MUSEUM ART OF THE LOST GENERATION

PRIVATE COLLECTION OF PROF. DR HEINZ BÖHME


This private museum, in the Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse in the heart of Salzburg, exhibits an extraordinary collection of artists from the “lost generation”.
The collection comprises some 300 works, most of them oil paintings.
The elegant exhibition rooms let us peek into the extended living room of the collector. It exudes a cosy ambiance that invites one to linger. There are comfortable lounge areas, tables and stools that offer one the opportunity to sit and study the extensive literature around one.
What is unusual is that the collector, Prof. Dr Heinz Böhme, is himself usually to be seen in the museum. He can provide a vivid, personal introduction to the topic of the “lost generation”, explaining how this collection came about, and also his reasons for making it accessible to the public. He often offers details of the stories behind the art works, and above all he is interested in the biographies of the artists. Prof. Dr Heinz Böhme would like to give back to this art the time that was stolen from it.

What was this “lost generation”? Who were they?

It was the art historian Rainer Zimmermann who coined the term “missing” or “lost” generation in 1980. He sees here a parallel to the concept of the “lost generation” of which Hannah Arendt and Gertrude Stein wrote in connection with the American writers of the 1920s. Zimmermann was referring to artists who were born between 1880 and 1915. Artists who attained a certain fame and recognition in the early 20thcentury, and who came from all corners of the Weimar Republic and the Austro-Hungarian Empire.
They were artists whom the Nazi regime refused to accept, denouncing them instead as “degenerate” and ostracising them, either because of their background, their faith, their political attitudes or one of many other reasons. Their works were destroyed, sold abroad, or – if they were lucky – hidden away and preserved. Their names are largely unknown today, as are their works.
This collection is now bringing them back to life.
The biographies of these artists all tell of different stages along a difficult path. They had the same goal: to survive, whether through “inner emigration”, or by physically leaving their country.
Studying their biographies enables us to perceive the interconnectedness of their lives, and how their long journey brought them together time and again before leading them apart again. At the start, they met when they studied with the same famous teachers and at the art schools of Berlin, Munich, Dresden, Hamburg or Düsseldorf. They also came together in assorted artists’ associations.
Many of these painters found refuge with Hanna Bekker vom Rath in her “Blue House” in Hofheim am Taunus. These included Alexej von Jawlensky, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Erich Heckel, Ida Kerkovius, Theo Garvé, Ilse and Ludwig Meidner, Willy Baumeister and others. All these painters were forbidden from working and from exhibiting their art.
During their exile, too, they created spaces where they might gather and exchange ideas in an endeavour to cope with their common fate. The port town of Sanary-sur-Mer in southern France, for example, became home to many members of the artistic and intellectual avant-garde of the time. For many of them, however, emigrating to America or Brazil was their only way out.
When their exile came to an end, few of these artists were able to resume their former, successful careers.

Museum Kunst der Verlorenen Generation

Privatsammlung Prof. Dr. Heinz Böhme


Das Privatmuseum in der Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse, im Herzen Salzburgs, zeigt eine außergewöhnliche Sammlung von Künstlern der Verlorenen Generation.

Die Sammlung besteht aus ungefähr dreihundert Werken, hauptsächlich Ölgemälden.

Die eleganten Ausstellungsräume geben Einblick in das erweiterte Wohnzimmer des Sammlers. Ein behagliches Ambiente lädt zum Verweilen ein. Gemütliche Sitzecken, Tische und Stühle geben die Möglichkeit, die umfangreiche vorhandene Literatur zu studieren.

Ungewöhnlich ist, dass der Sammler, Prof. Dr. Heinz Böhme meist selbst im Museum anzutreffen ist. Auf anschauliche Weise gibt er gerne eine persönliche Einführung zum Thema „Verlorene Generation“. Er spricht darüber, wie es zu dieser Sammlung gekommen ist, und auch über seine Beweggründe, die Sammlung der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Oft erzählt er Details zur Entstehungsgeschichte der Bilder. Vor allem aber interessiert ihn die Lebensgeschichte der Künstler. Prof. Dr. Heinz Böhme möchte der Kunst die Zeit zurückgeben, die ihr damals gestohlen wurde.

Wer ist nun diese Verlorene Generation? Wer gehört dazu?

Der Kunsthistoriker Rainer Zimmermann prägt den Begriff „Verschollene“ oder „Verlorene“ Generation 1980. Er zieht die Parallele zum Begriff „lost generation“, den Hannah Arendt und Gertrude Stein für die amerikanische Schriftstellergeneration der 1920er Jahre gewählt haben. Zimmermann bezieht sich auf Künstler, die zwischen 1880 und 1915 geboren sind. Künstler, die im frühen 20. Jahrhundert bereits einen gewissen Ruhm und Anerkennung erreichen. Sie kommen aus allen Gebieten der Weimarer Republik, sowie der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie.

Sie sind Künstler, die vom nationalsozialistischen Regime wegen ihrer Herkunft, ihres Glaubens, ihrer politischen Einstellung und aus vielen verschiedenen anderen Gründen nicht geduldet, als entartet angeprangert und verfemt werden. Ihre Werke werden zerstört, ins Ausland verkauft oder, mit etwas Glück, im Verborgenen aufbewahrt. Ihre Namen und auch ihre Arbeiten sind größtenteils unbekannt.

Diese Sammlung erweckt sie wieder zum Leben.

Die Biographien der Künstler zeigen alle einen schwierigen Weg mit vielen Stationen. Ihr gemeinsames Ziel ist die tatsächliche oder innere Emigration, um zu überleben.

Anhand der Biografien erkennt man die enge Vernetzung ihrer Leben, eine lange Reise, die sie immer wieder zusammenführt, aber auch wieder trennt. Anfangs treffen sie sich bei berühmten Lehrern und Kunstschulen in Berlin, München, Dresden, Hamburg oder Düsseldorf. Sie schließen sich zu verschiedenen Künstlervereinigungen zusammen.

Bei Hanna Bekker vom Rath, in ihrem „Blauen Haus“ in Hofheim am Taunus, finden viele Maler Unterschlupf. Dazu gehören Alexej von Jawlensky, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Erich Heckel, Ida Kerkovius, Theo Garvé, Ilse und Ludwig Meidner, Willy Baumeister und andere. Alle diese Maler waren mit einem Mal- und Ausstellungverbot belegt.

Auch in der Emigration schaffen sie sich selbst Sammel- und Mittelpunkte zum geistigen Austausch, zur Bewältigung des gemeinsamen Schicksals. Der Hafenort Sanary-sur-Mer in Südfrankreich ist für viele der damaligen geistigen und künstlerischen Avantgarde ein Zuhause. Für viele bleibt Amerika oder Brasilien der einzige Ausweg.

Nach dem Exil gelingt es nur wenigen Künstlern an frühere Erfolge anzuknüpfen.