Malerin an der Staffelei
Öl auf Leinwand
68 x 56 cm
Zugeschrieben

Hanna Bekker vom Rath

1893 Frankfurt am Main – 1983 Bad Nauheim

Painter – collector – gallerist

“My goal is to bridge the chasm created by the Third Reich. I want to bring young people to the art of the last forty years, and introduce them to the creative work of today in the fields of painting, sculpture, graphic art and crafts”. The artist Hanna Bekker vom Rath printed these words on the invitation card for the 1947 opening of the gallery called the “Frankfurter Kunstkabinett Hanna Bekker vom Rath”. These lines aptly reflect her own life and ethos.
Johanna vom Rath discovers her love of art at an early age. She takes painting lessons with Ottilie W. Roederstein in Hofheim, then with Adolf Hölzel during the First World War, and with Hölzel’s master student Ida Kerkovius in Stuttgart.
In 1920 she marries Paul Bekker, a conductor and writer on music. Through him she comes into contact with the music of the avant-garde composers of the time such as Gustav Mahler, Arnold Schoenberg and Igor Stravinsky. She acquires a country house in Hofheim am Taunus that would later become a refuge, a haven, a studio, and even an exhibition space for many artists. This so-called Blue House would become a cultural focus point after the Second World War.
In 1925 her husband is appointed director of the State Theatre in Kassel, and she establishes friendships with artists such as Oskar Kokoschka, Ludwig Meidner, Werner Wolffheim and Emil Bizer.
In 1929, Hanna Bekker founds the “Society of friends of the art of Alexej von Jawlensky” in Wiesbaden, primarily in order to support him financially. The two of them will be bound by a deep friendship until his death in 1941.
In 1930 she and Bekker divorce. Paul Bekker’s contract with the Prussian State Theatre in Wiesbaden is not extended on account of his “dangerous, critical intellect” and the general political mood. In 1933, he emigrates to the USA.
In 1930, Hanna Bekker exhibits her works in the Ludwig Schames Gallery in Frankfurt, and in 1932 with Gurlitt in Berlin. In 1930 she moves with her three children to live near Athens in order to wait out the war that seems inevitable. In 1934, however, it becomes impossible to transfer German money abroad any more, and so she returns to Hofheim am Taunus.
Hanna Bekker begins to collect art, primarily buying works by her friends who are being increasingly pushed to the margins of society by the machinations of the Nazi regime. She begins to organise secret exhibitions of “degenerate” art in Berlin. Many of her friends are prohibited from painting and from exhibiting. Well-known painters spend time in Hofheim, among them Theo Garvé, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Ludwig and Else Meidner and Ernst Wilhelm Nay. Hanna Bekker’s own career as an artist moves more and more into the background.
In 1947, Hanna Bekker founds the “Frankfurter Kunstkabinett Hanna Bekker”. As an “ambassador of art” she undertakes many trips to exhibit in Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Cuba, Peru, South Africa, India, North America and Mexico. Her prime concern is to enable people in other countries to become acquainted with German art – with the art of this lost generation.
Hanna Bekker is awarded honours by the Federal State of Hessen and the City of Frankfurt, and in 1964 is presented with the German Federal Cross of Merit. She is tireless in organising exhibitions right up to her death in Bad Nauheim in 1983. The larger part of her art collection is acquired by the Wiesbaden Museum, while the City Museum of Hofheim am Taunus possesses her own works.

Literature: Stadtmuseum Hofheim und Autoren: Die Malerin Hanna Bekker (1893 – 1983), 1993, Hofheim am Taunus. Frankfurter Kunstkabinett Hanna Bekker vom Rath GmbH, Hanna Bekker, 1984, Frankfurt am Main. Giersch-Museum, Frankfurt 2013/2014.

Malerin an der Staffelei
Öl auf Leinwand
68 x 56 cm
Zugeschrieben

Hanna Bekker vom Rath

1893 Frankfurt am Main – 1983 Bad Nauheim

Malen – Sammeln ­– Ausstellen

„Mein Ziel: Überbrückung der durch das Dritte Reich entstandenen Kluft. Heranführung der Jugend an die Kunst der letzten vierzig Jahre und Einführung in das Schaffen der Gegenwart auf dem Gebiet der Malerei, Plastik, Graphik und Werkkunst.“ Dies schreibt die Künstlerin in die Einladungskarte zur Eröffnung des Frankfurter Kunstkabinetts Hanna Bekker vom Rath 1947. Diese Zeilen spiegeln ihr gesamtes Leben und ihre Gesinnung wieder.

Sehr früh entdeckt Johanna vom Rath ihre Liebe zur Kunst. Sie nimmt Malunterricht bei Ottilie W. Roederstein in Hofheim, bei Adolf Hölzel noch während der Kriegsjahre, und bei seiner Meisterschülerin Ida Kerkovius in Stuttgart.

1920 heiratet sie Paul Bekker, einen Dirigenten und Musikschriftsteller. Durch ihn kommt sie in Kontakt mit der Künstler- Avantgarde, Gustav Mahler, Arnold Schönberg, Strawinsky.Sie erwirbt ein Landhaus in Hofheim am Taunus, das zukünftig noch vielen Künstlern als Unterschlupf, Zufluchtsort, Atelier beziehungsweise Ausstellungsraum dienen sollte. Das sogenannte Blaue Haus wird nach dem 2.Weltkrieg zum kulturellen Mittelpunkt.

Ab 1925 leitet ihr Mann das Staatstheater in Kassel, sie knüpft Freundschaft mit den Künstlern Oskar Kokoschka, Ludwig Meidner, Werner Wolffheim, Emil Bizer.

1929 gründet Hanna Bekker die Gesellschaft der Freunde der Kunst Alexej von Jawlenskys in Wiesbaden, hauptsächlich zu seiner finanziellen Unterstützung. Eine tiefe Freundschaft verbindet die beiden bis zu seinem Tod 1941.

1930 wird ihre Ehe geschieden. Aufgrund seines „gefährlichen kritischen Verstandes“ und wegen der politischen Stimmung wird Paul Bekker’s Vertrag am Preussischen  Staatstheater Wiesbaden nicht verlängert.1933 emigriert er in die Vereinigten Staaten.

1930 stellt Hanna Bekker ihre Werke in der Galerie Ludwig Schames, Frankfurt, 1932 bei Gurlitt, Berlin aus.1930 lebt sie ein Jahr mit ihren drei Kindern in der Nähe von Athen, um das Ende des kommenden Krieges abzuwarten. 1934 kann kein deutsches Geld mehr ins Ausland transferiert werden, weshalb sie nach Hofheim am Taunus zurückkehrt.

Sie beginnt Kunst zu sammeln, kauft vor allem die Werke ihrer Freunde, die vom Naziregime immer mehr an den Rand der Gesellschaft gedrängt werden. In Berlin beginnt sie heimlich Ausstellungen „entarteter“ Künstler zu organisieren. Viele ihrer Freunde sind mit einem Mal- und Ausstellungsverbot belegt. Bekannte Maler, wie Theo Garvé, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff, Ludwig und Else Meidner, Ernst Wilhelm Nay, sie alle halten sich eine gewisse Zeit in Hofheim auf. Hanna Bekkers eigene Kunst tritt immer mehr in den Hintergrund.

1947 gründet sie das Frankfurter Kunstkabinett Hanna Bekker. Als „Botschafterin der Kunst“ unternimmt sie viele Ausstellungsreisen nach Brasilien, Uruguay, Argentinien, Kuba, Peru, Südafrika, Indien Nordamerika, Mexiko. Ihr Hauptanliegen ist es, die deutsche Kunst, dieser verlorenen Generation den Menschen in anderen Ländern näher zu bringen.

Sie erhält Auszeichnungen des Landes Hessen, der Stadt Frankfurt, sowie 1964 das Bundesverdienstkreuz. Bis zu ihrem Tod 1983 in Bad Nauheim organisiert sie unermüdlich Ausstellungen. Der Großteil ihrer Kunstsammlung geht an das Museum Wiesbaden, das Stadtmuseum Hofheim am Taunus besitzt ihre eigenen Werke.

Lit.: Stadtmuseum Hofheim und Autoren, Die Malerin Hanna Bekker (1893 – 1983),1993, Hofheim am Taunus.                                                                                                         Frankfurter Kunstkabinett Hanna Bekker vom Rath GmbH, Hanna Bekker, 1984, Frankfurt am Main.Giersch-Museum, Frankfurt 2013/2014.