Menu
Opening Hours

Register now for the upcoming guided tours! 
20 July & 3 August
2024 at 3 pm

On 26 July, we will close at 3 pm

Tuesday – Saturday
10 am – 5 pm

Closed on public holidays.

 

+43 662 276231‬
museum@verlorene-generation.com

Tripadvisor Google Datei:CIS-A2K Instagram Icon (Black).svg – Wikipedia Das sind die Social-Media-Icons, die du wirklich nutzen darfst

 

BEYOND BECKMANN.

From the Master Class to the Böhme Collection

12 Mai 2023 - 28 September 2024  

The students of Max Beckmann’s master class (1925-1933) were among the most promising talents of the Frankfurt Art School (also known as the “Städel School”). Nevertheless, they are little known today. Their talent was repeatedly overshadowed throughout the course of the 20th century: By the great name of their teacher, through censorship and defamation from the National Socialists, and due to the destruction of their works during the Second World War. These circumstances affected the cultural visibility of an entire generation.

BEYOND BECKMANN. From the Master Class to the Böhme Collection is the first large-scale exhibition dedicated to twelve of the master class artists in an Austrian art museum. The Böhme Collection holds a total of 101 works from these master class students. From them, around 40 representative artworks trace the lives of these artists, from being students of Max Beckmann to becoming members of the Böhme Collection.

90 years after the dissolution of the master class, these artists are once again reunited, this time under the canon of the Lost Generation.

Exhibited artists: Carla Brill, Inge Hergenhahn-Dinand, Theo Garve, Ottokar Gräbner, Georg Heck, Anna Krüger, Leo Maillet, Friedrich Wilhelm Meyer, Marie-Louise von Motesiczky, Alfred Nungesser, Heinrich Friedrich Steiauf and Karl Tratt.

An accompanying exhibition catalogue will be published. It will be available both at the museum or via our webshop. This publication is only available in German.

 

This exhibition was supported by the Province of Salzburg.

Menu
BEYOND BECKMANN
Öffnungszeiten

Melden Sie sich für die nächsten öffentlichen Führung an!

15. Juni & 6. Juli um 15:00 Uhr

26.07.2024 ab 15:00 geschlossen!

Dienstag bis Samstag
10.00 – 17.00 Uhr

Feiertags geschlossen.

 

+43 662 276231‬
museum@verlorene-generation.com

Tripadvisor Google Datei:CIS-A2K Instagram Icon (Black).svg – Wikipedia Das sind die Social-Media-Icons, die du wirklich nutzen darfst

BEYOND BECKMANN.

Von der Meisterklasse bis zur Sammlung Böhme

12. Mai 2023 - 28. September 2024  

BEYOND BECKMANN. Von der Meisterklasse bis zur Sammlung Böhme

Die Schüler:innen aus Max Beckmanns Meisterklasse (1925-1933) gehörten zu den vielversprechenden Talenten der Frankfurter Kunstschule (auch „Städelschule“). Dennoch sind sie heute wenig bekannt. Ihr Werdegang wurde im Laufe des 20. Jahrhunderts vielfach überschattet: Der große Name ihres Lehrers, die Zensur und Diffamierung durch die Nationalsozialisten sowie die Zerstörung ihrer Werke durch den Zweiten Weltkrieg. Diese Umstände beeinflussen bis heute die kulturelle Sichtbarkeit einer gesamten Generation.

BEYOND BECKMANN. Von der Meisterklasse bis zur Sammlung Böhme ist die erste Ausstellung, die zwölf Künstler:innen der Meisterklasse in einem österreichischen Kunstmuseum gewidmet wird. Insgesamt enthält die Sammlung 101 Werke der Meisterklasse. Davon erzählen rund 40 repräsentative Werke von ihren Lebenswegen über Beckmann hinaus bis zur Sammlung Böhme.

 

90 Jahre nach Auflösung der Meisterklasse werden diese Künstler:innen wieder zusammengeführt und in den Kanon der Verlorenen Generation eingeordnet.

Ausgestellte Künstler:innen: Carla Brill, Inge Hergenhahn-Dinand, Theo Garve, Ottokar Gräbner, Georg Heck, Anna Krüger, Leo Maillet, Friedrich Wilhelm Meyer, Marie-Louise von Motesiczky, Alfred Nungesser, Heinrich Friedrich Steiauf und Karl Tratt.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein gleichnamiger Ausstellungskatalog, der im Museum vor Ort oder über den Webshop zu erwerben ist.

Diese Ausstellung wurde unterstützt vom